President's House (II)

Central campus
Map | News | ID#:

Timeline

1912 Constructed
1970 Demolished

Namesake

None

Architect

Unknown

Contractor(s)

Unknown

Nestled into a corner of a developing campus was the residence of the university president.


Sources

Vision Realized, Mary Estill, 1970

The original two-story dwelling used for the President's House was built at the turn of the century at the southeast portion of the original campus, where the women's gymnasium stood. In July and August of 1911 the official residence was moved across the street (Avenue J) but later caught fire and burnt to the ground that October. The new structure was finished the following year and faced the corner of Eighteenth Street and Avenue J.

It's interior changed with each president's term and was last occupied by President Lowman. After 1963, home economic students used it as a demonstration house until it was torn down in 1970.

The magnolia tree that stood in front of the house still stands today between the LSC and Alumni Garden.


comments powered by Disqus
Presented 2003-2015 | buildingshsu is an independent website and not affiliated with sam houston state university.