Arleigh B. Templeton

Arleigh B. Templeton


Apr. 18, 1916 Birth
1936 B.S.
1949 M.Ed.
University of Houston
1961 Ph.D.
University of Houston
1954-63 President,
Alvin Junior College
1964 -
Becomes 8th President of SHSU
1970 -
Dec. 1972
1st President of University of Texas at San Antonio
Dec. 1972 -
Jul. 30, 1980
President of University of Texas at El Paso
1977 Named SHSU Distinguished Alumnus
Oct. 28, 2006 Death


Arleigh Brantley Templeton was the eighth president of the university (1964-1970).

He was a 1936 graduate of Sam Houston State Teachers College and later earned his masters and doctorate from the University of Houston.

During his tenure, the State Legislature authorized the name of the institution changed to Sam Houston State College in 1965, and then in 1969 to Sam Houston State University.

He resigned in 1970 and subsequently served as president of University of Texas at San Antonio and later as president of the University of Texas at El Paso.

He was named a Distinguished Alumnus in 1977.

Templeton was memorialized in 2012 with a general purpose building renamed in his honor.

Presented 2003-23 | buildingshsu is an independent website and not affiliated with sam houston state university.